I Think It’s Time to Put the Christmas Decorations Away

January 17, 2013.  It’s been 23 days since Christmas and all through my house, I still see Christmas everywhere!

There is a tree up in the living room!

There is a tree up in my den!

There are five stockings still hanging from my mantle!

The plastic Charlie Brown decorations are still sitting by the fireplace!

I think there are a few unwrapped presents for my nieces under one of the trees!

I am not sure how much more I can take!  I’m pretty sure our home is the only still fully decorated for Christmas in my part of the neighborhood!

Tonight my dinner was served on the Christmas dishes!  My wife says they are “winter” seasonal dishes!

I have mentioned my concerns to my wife, but she doesn’t seem to care too much!  I think if she had her choice, the Christmas holidays would last all year!  I would try to take down the decorations myself, but I am not sure how she would react.  I’m afraid I would be banished to the couch!  She might even inflict physical harm on me!

I’m trying not to over-analyze this situation or blow it out of proportion, but I think my wife might have a problem.  I understand why she likes the holidays, but can everyday really be a holiday?  In her world, that maybe the case.  I’m talking about a woman who still loves playing LEGO Harry Potter on the Wii – even though she’s already finished the game 5 or 6 times already.  So what am I supposed to do about this Christmas situation?

The kids aren’t much help either.  Every night when I get home from work, the lights on the tree are on, and they are still watching the Christmas movies they DVRed prior to Christmas – you know the old Claymation ones from the late ’60s and ’70s.  What am I supposed to do?

My wife has threatened to leave the trees up all year and re-decorate them for Valentine’s Day, St. Patrick’s Day, Easter, 4th of July, Halloween, and the kids birthdays.  I’m not sure what to think about that.  It would definitely make these occasions much more festive.

I’m not sure why I should be concerned!  My parents leave their tree up and fully decorated year-round.  When it’s not in use, it gets covered with a king size bed sheet.  This is probably OK though since the tree is located in the living room that is never used except at Christmas.  Personally, I don’t condone leaving the tree up year-round, but I understand why they do it.  They do put up the other decorations though, however they have been known to be placed in a box and stored on the back staircase for long periods of time.

I guess I will have to take matters into my own hands this coming weekend!  I hope I can enlist the help of one of my daughters.  It may take some sort of bribe to make it happen!  I’ll keep you posted.  Wish me luck!

5 comments on “I Think It’s Time to Put the Christmas Decorations Away

  1. Frank Lybrand says:

    No sympathy here, after all why should anyone listen to a man who gets caught hugging Goofy and from all appearances is proud of it? It raises the important question – who’s really living in La La Land. Just saying . . .

    LoL

    • davereen says:

      Frank, what happens on a Disney Cruise stays on the Disney Cruise. Only Goofy and I know what really happened that night. Carrie had already gone to bed. We had a blast and yes, I am proud of it. LOL

  2. Elaine Crawford says:

    Hilarious Delton! I too, love Christmas BUT I also LOVE to get back to “normal” as of the first week of January. I am sure you will be able to come to soooommme kind of agreement this weekend ( good luck with that). Decorating the Christmas tree with Valentine decorations?? Are you sure that you are not being ” punked”?

    • davereen says:

      Not sure if I’m being “punked,” but when I came home today one tree was down – only one to go. Blogging life has been lots of fun so far. There will be more to come.

  3. Heather Lariviere says:

    I agree – I also love decorating for Christmas, but also love when it is all put away and can get at the dust bunnies that have accumulated under and around the 100 snowmen I put out every year – its like a new beginnning and motivates you to change things around in your house – I don’t think it would be the same magic for the kids that Christmas is if the decorations are up all year – just saying – good luck – I enjoy your blogs 🙂

Leave a Reply

